Stay outta my head!

They say the eyes are the window to the soul. Maybe that is why sometimes I struggle with eye contact. I’m worried about what that person might see or find in there. Not that I’m saying I think my soul is black or bad. I think it’s more my mind I worry about.

A question I often like to ask people is if they could have any superpower what it would be. Mine personally would be flying because I’m cool like that…But a couple of times people have said mind reading. Now that would scare me. I don’t even understand what’s going on in my head a lot, let alone someone else getting lost in there. And there are my bad days when I am so harsh and self-critical. I don’t think I would want anyone else to see that. Luckily (as far as I know) no one possesses these qualities so my mind is safe…for now.

Now I’m very fortunate to be on my road to recovery, so these days and fewer and further between. But I know I’m not the only one out there who feels this way. There are many people out there that think their mind is so bad and they’re scared to let people know what they are thinking. That is definitely one reason when you have depression or another mental illness that you are more reluctant to speak about your thoughts, because you are worried they’ll think you’re “crazy” and lock you away. However, we are fortunate that we are not back in the days where the automatic reaction was to strip away someone’s life and and treat them like they are a problem. Now there is more understanding and knowledge about these issues and people are definitely not alone. And they shouldn’t feel that way.

I guess the point of this ramble is to say to anyone who is struggling, you are not alone. If you need help, talk to someone. Don’t feel ashamed because of things you think or feel. You deserve to get help and feel better. And if you know someone who struggles, offer to listen with no judgement. Make them feel safe. Point them in the right direction to a doctor or someone who can help.

And to any mind-readers out there: stay outta my head!

Much love,

LGL x

Leave a comment