Nearly Christmas

I’ve opened up my blog not knowing what I am going to post. It’s nearly Christmas surely I can think of something. There are many messages we can give on Christmas about kindness and generosity and I could. But I won’t. I think for me this year Christmas has been a more difficult affair. To some degree I have been dreading it. Although my depression has improved drastically it leaves me more worried and sensitive than normal. Being a mother means the pressure is on at Christmas to make things run smoothly without any hiccups. I have to make sure the food is prepared on time and stockings are sorted (for Santa to put things in of course!) and so on.

I think one thing that is much harder this year as well is knowing my Granny is not around. This was her time of year. She slaved away in the kitchen (by choice) and stayed up past midnight getting everything sorted so Christmas would be perfect for our large family. And it always was. I have fond childhood memories at her house. It was my favourite time of the year. She had a heart full of love and generosity and you could tell she was proud to be at the head of such a family. Even as I grew older and became a single mother she still welcomed me and my little family with open arms. I feel blessed that my children got to meet such a strong, incredible lady and I will have those memories of her. Memories that will live on in years to come. Ones I will tell each year as this time approaches. I’m glad to know she will finally get a restful Christmas but I do miss her terribly.

If you are missing anyone this Christmas I send my warmest love and pray that those memories will continue to make you smile through the tears. I know that mine will.

Much love,

LGL x

One thought on “Nearly Christmas”

Leave a comment